Skip to main content

Removing Entities, Portfolios and Umbrellas

Overview

It is important to note that you cannot delete an Entity, Portfolio, or Umbrella from your environment if it has any attached data. The reason for this is that historical results are stored via the Portfolios and Entities. Therefore, deleting these would cause problems with historical disclosures. We do understand that portfolios may cease to exist. To capture this, the ability to liquidate a portfolio is available.

Liquidating a Portfolio

To liquidate a portfolio, simply navigate to the portfolio:

  1. Select Portfolios & Entities on the top right menu bar.

  2. Search for the portfolio you wish to liquidate.

  3. Click into the portfolio and make sure you are on the General Information tab.

  4. Enter the Liquidation Date by creating a new column with the heading LiquidationDate (no spaces). Ensure the column date format is set to YYYY-MM-DD and Save before re-uploading. If you are doing this for multiple portfolios, you can also make bulk edits by downloading the current portfolio CSV file, editing it, and then re-uploading it.

Liquidating a portfolio moves it from the active list into the liquidated list. If you ever wish to reinstate a portfolio, you can remove the liquidation date.

Making an Umbrella or Entity Redundant

Umbrellas do not have this functionality. If you are not aware of the purpose of an umbrella, check out the following Umbrella Level Disclosures article. Although umbrellas cannot be liquidated (technically, umbrellas do not have any positions), you can make an umbrella redundant in the system. To do this:

  1. Remove it from any aggregation structure by setting the parent entity to No Parent.

  2. Change the name - We recommend adding something like "Closed or Liquidated" at the end of the umbrella name (for example, "Exotic Fund" to "Exotic Fund - Closed."

  3. Remove any portfolios that aggregate up to the Umbrella. This step involves placing each portfolio under the parent entity's umbrella. Please see the article Setting up aggregation in the UI for instructions on how to do this.

***Please do not upload any position files or make any other changes in your environment while completing these steps***

These steps allow previously flagged results at the umbrella level to remain while ensuring that any new results appear at the portfolio or entity level.

Similarly, it is not possible to delete an entity. The same principle applies; in both situations, the umbrella/entity will remain visible on the active screen.

In extreme circumstances, we may be able to remove Umbrellas/Portfolios and Entities. This should be considered a last resort, as it would involve resetting your entire environment. This would remove any results and portfolio/entities already set up, meaning everything would need to be added back in as required.

Did this answer your question?